State Codes

State Codes for USA and Canada

State codes in the United States are two-letter abbreviations used to represent each of the 50 states within the country. They are a practical and standardized way to represent the 50 states, making it easier to handle mail, data, and communications on a national scale. They play a crucial role in ensuring that information and resources are directed accurately and efficiently to their intended destinations, whether it's a letter, a package, statistical data, or a phone call.


Alabama AL
Alaska AK
Arizona AZ
Arkansas AR
American Samoa AS
California CA
Colorado CO
Connecticut CT
Delaware DE
District of Columbia DC
Florida FL
Georgia GA
Guam GU
Hawaii HI
Idaho ID
Illinois IL
Indiana IN
Iowa IA
Kansas KS
Kentucky KY
Louisiana LA
Maine ME
Maryland MD
Massachusetts MA
Michigan MI
Minnesota MN
Mississippi MS
Missouri MO
Montana MT
Nebraska NE
Nevada NV
New Hampshire NH
New Jersey NJ
New Mexico NM
New York NY
North Carolina NC
North Dakota ND
Northern Mariana Islands MP
Ohio OH
Oklahoma OK
Oregon OR
Pennsylvania PA
Puerto Rico PR
Rhode Island RI
South Carolina SC
South Dakota SD
Tennessee TN
Texas TX
Trust Territories TT
Utah UT
Vermont VT
Virginia VA
Virgin Islands VI
Washington WA
West Virginia WV
Wisconsin WI
Wyoming WY


Province codes in Canada are two-letter abbreviations used to represent each of the country's provinces and territories. Province codes play a fundamental role in ensuring efficient communication, transportation, data management, and administrative processes within the country. They simplify the handling of mail, data, and communications on a national scale and help prevent errors in addressing, data analysis, and resource allocation.

Alberta AB
British Columbia BC
New Brunswick NB
Newfoundland and Labrador NL
Northwest Territories NT
Nova Scotia NS
Nunavut NU
Ontario ON
Prince Edward Island PE
Quebec QC
Saskatchewan SK
Yukon YT